Untitled

Here’s a summarized excerpt of a conversation I had earlier. I honestly can’t even…

Africa’s a poor continent. This is a fact, I can’t argue with facts.

We’re plagued by tropical diseases such as malaria; true again.

Several souls are lost to AIDS every year, yes.

Not true: every African country is the same. (There are 54 countries in this calabash-shaped continent, each with its own particular and unique set of issues, traditions and people. Visiting one doesn’t mean you’ve seen them all. Really dude, maps and borders are a thing for a reason.)

HIV and AIDS are the same thing. (They’re not. How am I sure? For the entirety of my school life I have had it drummed into me- I basically know all that there is to know about the virus and the disease. In fact, before the Kenyan syllabus was reviewed, what, a decade ago? (not inclusive of these recent ones) I had a specific class on the timetable to study all there is to learn about HIV and AIDS, plus additional sex ed sessions on Wednesdays that were so graphic they practically scarred me for life [more on that another time].)

Deaths by AIDS and malaria are as a direct result of bad hygiene. (I mean, really??) This being that Africa in its entirety is an unhygienic place to be. (Said after an unfortunate case of food poisoning from street food. Street food. I seriously can’t hold back my eye rolls at this point.)

Honestly, I’m not some kind of African Ambassador. I don’t even come up in arms when some dude on the Internet speaks ill of the Continent. People, opinions, assholes…nothing to get worked up by really.

However, when you come at me all logical-like about my country, my home, with nothing but false facts…to my face, of all things

Not okay! So not okay.

Why can’t we all just be nice to each other?

Peace and love xxx

37 thoughts on “Untitled

  1. It was said of everything in Africa and unfortunately, more referred to those diseases. The films and the journalistic versions have given complete information of the problem. It’s a complicated situation but as you say, it’s not all tragedy. There is a country that vibrates and lives to get ahead. A brave personal explanation on your part.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ignorance is everywhere, look on it as an opportunity to help someone grow in knowledge (and if they resist, hit them with a hard object till they DO understand – ok, maybe that is a bit extreme). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Smooth! High time somebody said it. I wanted to comment, though, that asking if Africa is the same or not is not a fair question. Here’s why:

    Saying that Africa is the same is actually a reasonable oversimplification in some contexts. I put all the little money I have, someone very foreign will tell you this. There is a reason for the stereotypes that fly around about Africa; the fact that we are fundamentally the same, especially in terms of mindset, prompts this oversimplification. However, the catch is this:

    We are aware of the negativity in most African stereotypes and thus we try to solicit that benefit of doubt by insisting that we are different. See, I have rubbed shoulders with Africans from outside Zimbabwe. The most knowledgeable ones try by any means to seem and act differently. It’s almost deliberate. Mauritius and Egypt are a notable example. I swear that most people from this country would break bones rather than stay in the African basket. Remember, some time ago one Egyptian representative had to apologize for some aside remarks he made supposedly about “Africa”. I don’t blame anyone for wanting to be counted in a special census, though.

    In light of this, I think it is more helpful, right and dignified than misleading to insist that Africa is the same; at least fundamentally, we are.

    Oh, and some interesting statistics you might want to look up: The HIV prevalence rate in Afghanistan is 0.01% meaning 1 in 10 000. In sub-sahara Africa, the figure is around 20% meaning 1 in 5. Oh, and South Africa refused to recognise HIV until 2005.๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

    At any rate, insightful post! Please, keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for reading!! Wow, such informative feedback!! I’m so glad!
    I think really in differing ourselves we’re really just saying, “hey, look at us! We’re more than just disease and corruption” There’s our art, our culture, diverse people such as the bantus, nilotes and cushites and their differing traditions and history….. Really, there’s so much that sets us apart, so much beauty that is overlooked. Individuality is really important in the long run.
    Again, thank you!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Okay, I reluctantly agree with you. There are some things that get overlooked as people fixate on the negative. But it’s a risky disposition, I feel I should insist. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      We are diseases, corruption etc. Let me explain again.

      In FML, The Weekend says,

      |Even though I always f**k my life up, only I can mention that.|

      It means that the true stand that an African, or anyone thereof, should have is the persuasion of the generalisation of our essence. The immature politics, the mismanagement of funds, the diseases, lack of tech advancement etc. The problem is not in recognising this. Actually, this realisation gets us a step towards betterment.

      The problem is that, like in FML, only we should mention that; any other race has no right whatsoever. In fact, all other races should ideally insist on the positive.

      I’m sorry I say a lot but when you get time do listen to Kendrick Lamar explain about the Butterfly and the cocoon. They are all the same but we praise the butterfly and despise the cocoon. Africans don’t need a sense of dignity that is earned but one that we are inherently entitled to by virtue of being human. That is where the fight really lies and this cherity starts in our homes. Let’s embrace our problems and own them. We have challenges by virtue of our geography, our corrupt spirit might as well be because of a fault in our stars, we were robbed of the germs that built some of greatest civilisations etc.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I think we have a duty, a moral duty to tell our stories.
    There are diseases in Africa and some of them are tropical diseases. Some of them were brought here from Italy, from Moscow and from the Americas and there is no part of the world that is disease free.
    We need to task our leaders to invest in healthcare.
    We need to work towards reducing corruption in both public and private spheres.
    And yes, we are different.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Can’t stand sweeping generalizations, especially those stupid ones that seek to denigrate. Can you imagine the time and energy that goes into those thought processes? Bleh. I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

    Good for you for speaking up. โฅ

    Like

  7. Hi Peace. Lovely name. I think we all get defensive when people say things we don’t agree with about our country, whether its a country in Africa or not. But we do have to face the facts that a lot of people in Africa (not necessarily Kenya) are very ignorant about HIV and AIDS and other issues like the environment, over population and the important place every living thing has in everyone and everythings life. Also governments spread false information about things like AIDS, such as ‘it doesn’t exist and is just a lie told by white people to scare black people’ and also that ‘it was introduced into the environment by white people to kill blacks’. Unfortunately too many people in Africa believe these ridiculous tales.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is quite a unique name ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much, Kim!
      And I’m so glad you stopped by.
      Now, I haven’t yet heard of a government that spreads such racist propaganda. Perhaps you can enlighten me on which one exactly; we clearly need to stop them! On ignorance…. I don’t really know much about that, ha! I do know there have been HIV/AIDS educational drives throughout the Continent since the 90s, plus continuous free testing stations that pop up all over the country (this being Kenya). The government also provides free medication (ARVs) for the affected. Ignorance is the lack of information; information on the subject is not lacking, not for the majority at least.
      On the environment and the importance of living things….yes, a lot of people don’t care much of it, and not just in Africa but throughout the world. We as a human race need to be more attentive to Mother Nature.

      I truly believe that you thought your sentiments above were true; and I don’t blame you, I grew up believing a lot of crazy things about other countries. I do hope however that this helped. Everyday’s a learning opportunity!! How great is that? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely write up, I am repping africa, till infinity!!! I have had a lot people ask me a lot of silly questions at work ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚… Like did you walk from Nigeria to Germany ? ๐Ÿ˜ฒ๐Ÿ˜ฒ๐Ÿ˜ฒ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ oh yes dear, I work in the hospital. One time my Patient asked me if we have hospital in Nigerian ๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿฅ๐Ÿ˜ฒ… I was like ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ seriously??? “It might not be like the Germans, but we surely do have hospitals”!!!

        Liked by 2 people

  9. i am happy again thanks be to god , who will believe that herbs can cure ย HIV, i never believed that this will work i have spend a lot of money when getting drugs from the hospital to keep me healthy, what i was waiting for was death because i was broke, one day i hard about this great man who is well known forHIV and herpes cure, i decided to email him, unknowingly to me that this will be the end of the HIV ย in my body, he prepare the herbs for me, and give me instruction on how to take it, at the end of the two weeks, he told me to go to the hospital for a check up, and i went, surprisingly after the test the doctor confirm me negative, i thought it was a joke, i went to other hospital was also negative, then i took my friend who was also HIV positive to the Dr, after the treatment she was also confirmed negative . He also have the herbs that also cure herpes virus and hepatitis A,B,C, lyme and , psoriasis , please i want every one with this virus to be free, that is why am dropping his email address, (oduduwaspellhome81@gmail.com) ย  email him if you have any of this virus and he we cure you with is healing herb medication . thanks you dr amakor for saving my life, and I promise I will always testify for the ย good work you did to the world

    Like

Leave a Reply

